The Provincial Environment & Natural Resources Office (PENRO) of Compostela Valley Province which is based at the Capital town of Nabunturan, was formally operationalized on July 01, 1999 through DENR Administrative Order #14 series of 1999 and under the passage of the Republic Act (R.A.) No. 8470 dated January 30, 1998 creating the Province of Compostela Valley.

The province has an aggregate area of 466,693 hectares of which 313,097 hectares or 33% of the total land area is classified as timberland while 153,097 hectares or 33% is alienable and disposable lands (A&D). It is situated in Southeastern Mindanao and is bounded in the North by Agusan del Sur, in the West by Davao Province, in the East and Southeast by Davao Gulf. Geographically, it lies between 8o00’00” to 7o04’45” East Latitude and between 125o40’05” to 126o17’30” North Longitude. Traversed by the Maharlika (Phil-Japan Friendship) Highway, which is one hour and thirty minutes ride from Davao City.

It is divided into two (2) Congressional Districts consisting of eleven (11) municipalities and 237 barangays. It has a population of 637,366 with a density of 137 persons per square kilometer . There are 50 barangays identified within forest lands with an estimated population of 69,494 persons.

PENRO Compostela Valley was functionalized with two (2) Community Environment & Natural Resources Offices (CENROs) strategically located in the Province. One (1) CENR Office was operating in Monkayo (1st District) with a total area of 222,828 hectares covering the Municipalities of Monkayo, New Bataan, Montevista & Compostela. The other CENR Office was in Maco with a total land area of 107,678 hectares and covered the Municipalities of Maco, Mabini & Pantukan. The rest of the municipalities to include Laak, Mawab & Nabunturan were under the direct supervision of PENRO Nabunturan acting as CENRO at the same time.

Sometime in August 2003, a Memorandum Order was issued by the Secretary of Department of Environment and Natural Resources (DENR) Elisea G. Gozun leading to the creation of CENRO Nabunturan, assuming all the CENRO function of PENRO Nabunturan and the municipalities under its jurisdiction. At present, PENRO Nabunturan has two (2) operating CENROs with a total manpower of compliments of 79 distributed as follows: PENRO Nabunturan -18 personnel; CENRO Maco - 32 personnel and CENRO Monakyo – 29 personnel.

At present, Chamberlain J. Babiera is the PENR Officer of PENRO Nabunturan while the two CENR Officers were namely: CENR Officer Amelda Vera Cruz of Maco and OIC, CENR Officer Diony Serñoso of Monkayo.