87 Sea turtle hatchlings released

A total of 87 sea turtle hatchlings were released into the shores of Toril, Davao City last April 15, 2019. The releasing of these hatchlings was initiated by the Therma South, Inc. (TSI) in coordination with the Department of Environment and Natural Resources (DENR-XI).

The nest was discovered along the coast of TSI in Binugao, Toril last February 23, 2019. Currently, there are already 3 nests that have been discovered within the compound of the coal-fired power plant.

This 2nd batch of hatchlings is named “Team Exodus” as it hatched just before the Holy Week season. The 1st batch, dubbed as "Team Stingray" after Davao City Mayor Sara Duterte-Carpio’s son, was released last March 29, 2019.

TSI Vice President and Plant Manager Valentin S. Saludes III said that sea turtles nesting and hatching in a coal-fired power plant is not an everyday sight. “The presence of these pawikans is a good indicator that we are delivering on our commitment to environmental stewardship.”

Therma South Inc. is an AboitizPower subsidiary which is the owner and operator of the 300-megawatt Davao Baseload Power Plant. Aside from responsibly operating the plant, TSI has been conducting monthly coastal cleanups since 2016 and has facilitated information, education, and communication (IEC) campaigns with the host communities on safe and sustainable fishing practices.

In the Philippines, there are 5 sea turtle species that are known to occur. These are Green Turtle; Hawksbill Turtle, Olive Ridley Turtle, Loggerhead Turtle, and Leatherback Turtle. Under the International Union for Conservation of Nature or IUCN, the Hawksbill turtle is categorized as critically-endangered while Green and Loggerhead turtles are categorized as endangered. On the other hand, Olive Ridley and Leatherback turtles are categorized as vulnerable.




DENR-XI, ComVal Prov't Gov't sign Joint Special Order for Naboc River Rehab TWG

Department of Environment and Natural Resources-XI and the Provincial Government of Compostela Valley recently signed a Joint Special Order creating a Technical Working Group (TWG) and Working Committees tasked to formulate the Naboc River Rehabilitation Master Plan.

Signing the Joint Special Order are Assistant Secretary for Field Operations-Eastern Mindanao and DENR Regional Executive DirectorRuth M. Tawantawan and Compostela Valley Provincial Governor Jayvee Tyron L. Uy.

The creation of the said TWG is in line with the government’s aim to rehabilitate Naboc River as it is contaminated with Mercury and Cyanide due to the mining activities in Mt. Diwalawal. The river is also said to be contaminated with fecal coliform.

Last July 16, 2019, the DENR and the Provincial Government of Comval signed a Memorandum of Agreement for the dredging, quarrying and rehabilitation of Naboc River held in Davao City. The MOA signing was attended by DENR Secretary Roy A. Cimatu as Naboc River rehabilitation is one of his priority programs.

Tawantawan said that the "dredging activity will start on November this year and we aim to finish it before July of next year."

On the other hand, Uy assured the TWG members that the provincial government will fully support the Naboc rehabilitation Master Plan.

"We hope that our timeline will be met so we could finally gain a step ahead in rehabilitating Naboc River," he said.

Members of the TWG are composed of some officials and personnel of DENR-XI, Compostela Valley Provincial offices and members of the Provincial Task Force Naboc River. This will be led by DENR-XI's Provincial Environment and Natural Resources Officer (PENRO) Chamberlain Babiera and co-led by Eugene C. Alaba of PENRO-PLGU.

TWG's Working Committees are: Data Management; Mining and Environment; Infrastructure Development; Disaster Risk Reduction and Management; Enforcement and Security; Permitting; Monitoring and Evaluation; and Legal.


#LihokAlangSaNaboc   #TayoAngKalikasan

Photo Releases

Other Links

  • office-of-the-president

  • gov

                                *EMB    *MGB    *FMB    * PAWB    * LMB   * ERDB