Tawantawan is a Presidential GAWAD CES Awardee for 2016

Department tawantawan is a presidential gawad ces awardee for 2016 webof Environment and Natural Resources Regional Director Ruth Manigos-Tawantawan is one the awardees for 2016 Presidential GAWAD Career Executive Service (CES) Award for her commendable performance, contribution and innovations in fulfilling the noble mission to mobilize the citizenry in protecting, conserving and managing the environment and natural resources.

Tawantawan was designated as the Regional Director of DENR Region X from October 2012 to February 2017 and is presently the Regional Director of DENR XI.

Banking on her strength in establishing linkages and with her unwavering commitment to service excellence, the cadastral survey in Nunungan, Lanao del Norte was successfully completed in just 7 months under her leadership.

At present, Nunungan, Lanao del Norte is enjoying inclusive growth and social stability and peace which further resulted in the mobilization and empowerment of the LGUs in the area.

Tawantawan was also the prime mover in stopping the illegal logging and timber poaching activities in Mt. Malindang Range Natural Park (MMRNP) in Misamis Occidental, removing Region X from the illegal logging hotspot list since 2013.

Moreover, she also lobbied for financial support through the concerned congressman to provide regular funds for the operations of MMRNP. This paved the way to empower and involve the community through deputation of Forest Protection Officers and provide support for alternative livelihood to local residents.

On the other hand, Tawantawan also spearheaded the formulation of a Memorandum of Agreement (MOA) aimed to put an end to illegal mining activities within the Iponan Watershed in Misamis Oriental. She collaborated with 13 concerned agencies and non-government organization to apprehend violators in illegal mining.

She initiated the institutionalization of an environmental group named Task Force Kinaiyahan to combat environmental crimes in Region X. This Task Force is composed of the City Environment and Natural Resources Office, Mines and Geosciences Bureau, Philippine National Police, Armed Forces of the Philippines and the City Disaster Risk Reduction Management Office.

Under her leadership in 2013, three Chinese nationals were convicted for illegal mining operations.
Presidential GAWAD CES Award is a government's highest award given to Career Executive Service (CES) members for exemplary performance and significant contributions, particularly in the areas of innovation, information and communication technology, social services, administrative reforms and public policy.

It was established by virtue of Executive Order No. 715 signed by then President Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo on March 28, 2008. It aims to inspire members of the CES community to live up to the ideals in the CES, that is to bring to the entire bureaucracy change where it is needed, expertise where it is missing, and leadership where it is wanting. It recognizes exceptional accomplishments to encourage consistent performance and to promote excellence in the CES community.


3 Foreigners Arrested for Illegal Possession of Endangered Tree Species

Three5-17 press release - 3 foreigners arrested for illegal possession of endangered tree species resized foreigners were arrested last week by the joint team of National Bureau of Investigations (NBI), Department of Environment and Natural Resources (DENR) and Bureau of Immigration (BI) officers in a hotel here in Davao City for illegal possession of endangered tree species. 
A Cambodian national and two other Malaysian nationals were caught by surprise when operatives from the NBI XI and officials from DENR XI and BI XI came to their hotel room last May 10, 2018. The three were arrested for violation of Section 77 of Presidential Decree 705 as amended by Executive Order No. 277, and Executive Order No. 23 or the Moratorium in the Cutting of Natural Grown Tree Species. 

Photo Releases

Other Links

  • office-of-the-president

  • gov

                                *EMB    *MGB    *FMB    * PAWB    * LMB   * ERDB